Get to know what Dropbox backups stand for and how to activate them for your web hosting account.
Dropbox is a well-known cloud file storage platform. Different from a hosting service where you can have an Internet site that's accessible online by typing a domain, Dropbox allows you to store files, which you can access via their application using a computer or a smart phone. The files aren't executed, so an html file shall be listed and not displayed as an actual web page. The service enables you to access your information from any location so long as you log in with the correct credentials. Because the company allows third-party companies to use their API, we've taken advantage of this service and we provide you with the chance to produce regular automatic backups of the content you have on our end to a Dropbox account provided that you've got sufficient space. This shall incorporate one more level of protection for your websites because you shall always have a copy of any data that you might need and if the application is installed on your personal computer, a copy shall be available not only on their hosting servers, but also within a folder on your end.
Dropbox Backups in Shared Web Hosting
The Dropbox backup function is offered with all our shared web hosting solutions and enabling it takes a few mouse clicks, so you could link the account on our end to your Dropbox space in no time. The tool that you shall find within the Hepsia hosting CP will allow you to select which sites and databases should be backed up independently and what number of copies should be created, the biggest amount being 14. This way you'll be able to have a daily copy of your data for the past 14 days if you change or delete something that you need. How much content shall be stored in your Dropbox account and how many copies will be available also depends upon the size of the content and the disk space that you have on their end. The function could be enabled or disabled anytime and if needed, you could quickly switch the Dropbox account linked to your shared hosting space on our end or even add numerous accounts and have different Internet sites backed up in different accounts.